Be yourself, it’s okay to make mistakes.

Drishti Rai
6 min readJul 26, 2021

Want to hear a secret? It’s okay to make mistakes. It’s okay to fail. It’s okay to be human.

Mistake are the part of life.

We mess up and we over analyze that mistake for hours, and the anxiety can be debilitating. For me personally, making mistakes and dealing with those mistakes, has been incredibly hard for me my entire life. I have always chased perfection, so the idea of making a mistake was truly debilitating. When we lack self-compassion, it is so much easier to be hard on ourselves. When I had no compassion for myself I would spiral into self-hate and it brought me to a point where not accomplishing my goals meant that I could barely look at myself in the mirror. I was that kid that could barely be comforted if I made a mistake on a test and got anything less than an A. But by learning what self-compassion looked like, I finally was able to be a little less hard on myself and laugh at my shortcomings and mistakes. As long as you’re putting in the time, energy and resources to fix them.

And that’s a lot easier said than done.

That’s why most people don’t want to own or fix their mistakes. Even though almost all mistakes can be fixed. Again, as long as you’re willing to put in the time, energy and resources to fix them. That’s why we’re all afraid of making mistakes. Because we don’t want to put in the extra time, energy and resources to fix them. Even though it’s the making mistakes and then trying to fix it part where we learn the most. About ourselves, the people around us and pretty much everything else in life.

It might even be the only way to really learn new things about ourselves, the people around us and pretty much everything else in life…

Why It’s OK To Make Mistakes?

There are few reasons about why it’s ok to make mistake.

Truth be told, everyone makes mistakes. It’s a part of the learning process of life. Mistakes don’t always have to be bad, but the human reaction to making a mistake is usually a bad one. If you are like me, you beat yourself up over making careless mistakes. I like to strive for perfection and hate to disappoint people, but in reality, I make mistakes too. You replay everything in your head and try to figure out where you went wrong. In the end, you have to live with what you did. If you are lucky enough, the mistake can be fixed. Realizing that it is OK to make mistakes is the key to helping you live a happier life.

1.Mistakes are life lessons.

Every mistake you make is a valuable lesson gained. Mistakes are a way of teaching you. You learn through every mistake you make even if it’s a little one. It is hard to admit that you made a mistake, but once you do it feels so much better. You aren’t the only one that makes mistakes in life. Everyone does.

2. Nobody is perfect.

We all strive for perfection in life, but it isn’t possible to be perfect. We try and try, yet we still fail. That’s perfectly OK. Mistake help us learn and grow as a person. As long as you are trying your best, then that is perfectly fine. Everyone has their flaws.

3. You are human.

We were not created to be perfect. Making mistakes is part of being human. Everyone was created differently. If you think some people are perfect, get that idea out of your head right now. Everyone makes mistakes. They are inevitable. You try your best to avoid them, but they still happen. Just remember that it’s OK to make mistakes.

4. Mistakes help you grow as a person.

Making a mistake seems like the end of the world, but it’s not. It means that you have to fix it and start over. After making a mistake, the best thing you can do is try and fix it. You can reflect on your decisions and learn the right way from the mistakes you make. This is one of the best reasons as to why it’s OK to make mistakes. They help you learn more about yourself and grow. Mistakes help you realize what is right and wrong to you. You can’t learn anything without messing up and trying to put things back together.

5. You can try again.

Having the opportunity to fix a mistake is one of the greatest perks of making a mistake. If you hurt someone, apologize and make amends. If you failed a test, strive to do better next time. If you make the same mistake again (because everyone does), you can apply what you learned the first time making that mistake. The best way to overcome a mistake is to fix it and prove that you will do better.

6. Mistakes fuel you.

Once you make a mistake you are determined to do better. Mistakes help you better yourself. Mistakes push you in ways you never knew you could be pushed. No matter how many mistakes you make, you will have chances to make them better. You need to make mistakes to encourage and inspire you.

7. Mistakes don’t dictate your life.

One mistake doesn’t dictate the rest of your life. Forgetting to study for one test and failing doesn’t mean your college career is over. Mistakes simply mean learn and be stronger. Rebounding from a mistake is one of the best things you can do. Show everyone how strong you are and that you can overcome a mistake. Mistakes are a part of life. Take a deep breath and overcome your mistake. Don’t let your mistake drag you down. Your mistake doesn’t define you. It doesn’t make you the worst person in the world. It simply makes you human. You are stronger than your mistake.

Perfection doesn’t exist

I know this because I proudly called myself a perfectionist. Holy crap was I in a deep dark hole of denial.

The only goal I achieved: being a fantastic perfectionist.

Not ideal, I tell you. I feared speaking my truth. I held back my talents. I never engaged with people online. I worried people would catch my mistakes and call me a fraud, keeping my goals just out of reach. This impacted my self-esteem and stifled my creative process.

Sound familiar? Meet the hamster wheel of perfectionism.

So we need to stop putting so much pressure on ourselves to get everything right the first time around. It’s OK to make mistakes, it’s OK that we don’t get things right the first time around all the time. We need to be OK to not be OK.

Once we do it the first time, the fear will slowly go away, especially if we get the results that we want. :)

Thanks for reading!

--

--